SEC Meetings conclude from Destin

SEC Meetings conclude from Destin
June 2, 2012, 2:43 pm
Share This Post

The SEC meetings ended and once again a record payout for the member schools. It's just amazing how much revenue is generated by football alone. The number exceeds 166 million which includes 15 million plus for the title game. Other conferences are lining up against the SEC in an effort to protect their conference champions.I have no issue with this but the reality is the best teams need to play for the championship.If you want to allow everyone in a postseason tournament just like the NCAA Hoops event then agree to have a 16 team playoff and do away with the old bowl system. That is not likely to happen in our lifetime. There will be plenty of meetings in the next month on the direction of the playoff plan, but in my opinion we are too far down the road toturn back to the old way.Quickopinions on the SEC meetingsandit's stance for the future--SEC willadd a 9th conference game once it launches it own network. In the meantime there is no reason to pushforward withit. -Some coaches like Nick Saban will oppose the 9th game because they like having a big inter-sectional game that features his program and helps recruiting.-The SEC will preserve it's rivalries at all cost with regards to scheduling. Alabama versus Tennessee and Georgia versus Auburn will not go anywhere.-Mike Slive will be adament this summer that the four best teams be in the playoff.-Steve Spurrier's push to pay the players looks good for recruiting, but I think it's a logistical nightmare for the NCAA.Here is the SEC release from it's meetings:2011-12 SEC REVENUE DISTRIBUTION
The Southeastern Conference will distribute approximately
241.5 million to the 12 league institutions in the revenue sharing
plan for the 2011-12 fiscal year, which ends Aug. 31, 2012, according
to league commissioner Mike Slive.
The 241.5 million is the highest total ever distributed
in SEC history and represents a 9.8 percent increase from the 219.9
million distributed to the schools in 2010-11.
The revenue sharing plans include money generated by
football television, bowls, the SEC Football Championship, basketball
television, the SEC Men's Basketball Tournament and NCAA
Broken down by categories and rounded off, the 241.5
million was derived from 116.6 million from football television,
34.2 million from bowls, 15.3 million from the SEC Football
Championship, 31.2 million from basketball television, 4.9 million
from the SEC Men's Basketball Tournament, 24.9 million from NCAA
Championships and 14.4 million in a supplemental distribution.
The average amount distributed to each school was 20.1
Not included in the 241.5 million was 12.8 million
retained by the institutions participating in bowls and 816,000
divided among all 12 institutions by the NCAA for academic
Revenues derived by the institutions from its local media
packages as
well as from other conference initiatives are not included in the
total amount.
Other yearly money distributions, since 1980, are as
follows: 1980 (4.1 million); 1981 (5.57 million); 1982 (7.24
million); 1983 (9.53 million); 1984 (18.4 million); 1985 (9.34
million); 1986 (13.1 million); 1987 (13.56 million); 1988 (14.34
million); 1989 (13.85 million); 1990 (16.3 million); 1991 (20.6
million); 1992 (27.7 million); 1993 (34.34 million); 1994 (34.36
million); 1995 (40.3 million); 1996 (45.5 million); 1997 (58.9
million); 1998 (61.2 million); 1999 (68.5 million); 2000 (73.2
million); 2001 (78.1 million); 2002 (95.7 million); 2003 (101.9
million); 2004 (108.8 million); 2005 (110.7 million); 2006 (116.1
million); 2007 (122.0 million); 2008 (127.6 million); 2009 (132.5
million); 2010 (209.0 million); 2011 (219.9 million); 2012 (241.5

The 2012-13 Southeastern Conference Executive Committee was
at the SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla. The committee consists of:

President - Dr. Jay Gogue (Auburn)
Vice-President - Nick Zeppos (Vanderbilt)
Secretary - Dr. Joe Fink (South Carolina)
Dr. David Gearhart (Arkansas)
Mal Moore (Alabama)
Lynda Tealer (Florida)
Dr. Steven Turner (Mississippi State)


The SEC voted to have an eight-game conference schedule with six
divisional games, one permanent non-division and one rotating
non-division opponent. The non-division opponents will rotate in a
single-year rotation, meaning each school will play the six
non-divisional opponents in the first six years and switch the sites
for the following six years.

The permanent opponents for SEC football conference scheduling are:
Alabama - Tennessee; Arkansas - Missouri; Auburn - Georgia; Florida -
LSU; Kentucky - Mississippi State; Ole Miss - Vanderbilt; South
Carolina - Texas A&M.


The SEC voted to have an 18-game conference schedule, featuring one
permanent rival per school and 12 rotating opponents.

The permanent opponents for SEC men's basketball conference scheduling
are: Alabama - Auburn; Arkansas - Missouri; Florida - Kentucky;
Georgia - South Carolina; LSU - Texas A&M; Ole Miss - Mississippi
State; Tennessee - Vanderbilt.


The SEC voted to have a 16-game conference schedule, featuring single
round-robin games with one permanent opponent and two random

The permanent opponents for SEC women's basketball conference
scheduling are: Alabama - Auburn; Arkansas - Missouri; Florida -
Georgia; Kentucky - South Carolina; LSU - Texas A&M; Ole Miss -
Mississippi State; Tennessee - Vanderbilt.


Each tournament will increase by one day. The first day will feature
games pitting the 12 vs. 13 seeds and 11 vs. 14 seeds. The bracket is
as follows with seeds:

Day 1 - 12 vs. 13; 11 vs. 14
Day 2 - 8 vs. 9; 1213 winner vs. 5; 7 vs. 10; 1114 winner vs. 6
Day 3 - 1 vs. 89 winner; 4 vs. 12135 winner; 2 vs. 710 winner; 3
vs. 11146 winner
Day 4 - Semifinals
Day 5 - Finals
Coming up on Wednesday June 6th we begin our Summer Editions of Talkin Football. We also countdown from 25 to 1 in our preseason poll. Keep an eye out for your favorite teams and see where we think they will end up. Of course we will all change our mind twenty times by August!

More Team Talk